Word Wednesday: 5/8

I would like to take this word Wednesday to share with you, my two readers, why I missed last Tuesday. I found out that a friend of mine, whom I had drifted apart from, died of an overdose and it threw a wrench in my plans.

All I keep wondering is what can be done in order to fix the overdoses. I went to high school in the overdose capital of the United States, I have grown up knowing people who were struggling with addiction and who had died from it. And I keep wondering what can be done in order to fix it. And the truth is I don’t know. All I can do is to check in on friends and remind them I am there for them no matter what, and hope someone would rather talk through their problems then turn to drugs.

And while I realize it’s not that simple, it’s all I can do.

Leave a Reply

