Television Tuesday on Wednesday: Sorry

Okay, so I know I’m late to television review Tuesday; but I didn’t really have enough time this weekend in order to fully review anything. I’m planning on releasing a review for “Harlots” the Amazon Prime show next week, when the season ends, but that will be this Thursday.

What this means for you, if you have any shows you think I should watch to listen to what I have to say, feel free to comment because I’m almost out of new shows to watch. However, I do have a review for you.

This weekend I saw “King Arthur” because Charlie Hunnam is hot and my mom bought my ticket so I’m reviewing it. The movie follows Arthur Pendragon (Charlie Hunnam) as he grows up in the mean Londinium streets and battles his evil Uncle, King Vortigern (Jude Law (also hot)), for control of Camelot.

The story is extremely familiar as it is so damn old, every decade there is a new King Arthur and the Knights of Camelot story. So for film-makers the problem is reinventing the story so that new audiences want to see it. This King Arthur story takes on more of a “Rocky” vibe. The character is a scrappy loyal underdog against the machine that is his Uncle. But at some points it is definitely too gimmicky. More of their budget was spent on high octane action sequences then it was on story. The final fight sequence between Arthur and his Uncle could’ve benefitted from some work.

The underdog taking back the insert thing here from insert villain here is always fun and generally brings in lots of money. People can relate to the underdog, especially in this day and age, but there are so many underdog stories that can be produced.

My personal favorite about this movie is Tom Wu, however I think he is under utilized and how he ended up in Londonium is questionable. While I think he is an amazing martial artist, I think he is the token Asian character and the only way they can introduce a more complex fighting style in this story. If they had provided him with more of a backstory I think he would have been more plausible in the story.

I enjoyed my time in the theater, but I recognize there are many faults with the story and places where they could’ve spent more time. However, the cast is hot and the action sequences exciting. If you’re looking for a movie to entertain without too much thought, it’s great. If you’re wanting the next Indie hit, it is not this.

Leave a Reply

